Sunshine Coast Open Schoolboys Announced


After a grueling trial in the heat at Noosa last Tuesday, Schoolboy selectors, Darren Crilly, Brent Timms and Luke Zeremes, announced their team that will defend the Queensland Combine Secondary School Championships for the third time in a row, with wins in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

SCRU Board Member and Schoolboys Manager, Luke Zeremes, said “It’s a tough ask selecting the best schoolboy rugby players on the coast from one trial, but that is the process outlined by the Sunshine Coast Secondary Schools”. “We believe we have a very competitive team again and we are sure the boys will be up to the challenge”, he said.

The QCSS Championships will be held at Sunnybank from 3-7 May, with Harrison Raven, Lachlan Sparks, Joel Cavell, Nick Aylward, Alex Moses, Harry McMahon, Tye James and Alex Gow all backing up again from the 2016 Championship team. Harry McMahon and Harrison Raven also represented the Qld Open Schoolboys last year, plus Alex Moses and Alex Gow represented Qld Open Schoolboys at 7s in 2016.

For the first time in many years the team also sees more players selected from Matthew Flinders than Sunshine Coast Grammar, which should see some interesting clashes develop in the local school 1st XV competition this year.

2017 Sunshine Coast Open Schoolboys Team:

  1. Tila Sa’u (St Columban’s College)
  2. Morehu Patu (Kawana State College)
  3. Harrison Raven (Sunshine Coast Grammar School)
  4. Lachlan Sparks (Sunshine Coast Grammar School)
  5. Joel Cavell (St Andrew’s Anglican College)
  6. Nick Aylward (St Teresa’s Catholic College)
  7. Jock Hussan (Sunshine Beach SHS)
  8. Jacob Tompkins (Matthew Flinders Anglican College)
  9. Charlie Molloy (Matthew Flinders Anglican College)
  10. Harry Wright (St John’s College)
  11. Alex Moses (St Andrew’s Anglican College)
  12. Harry McMahon (Sunshine Coast Grammar School)
  13. James Hodgson (Matthew Flinders Anglican College)
  14. Tye James (Matthew Flinders Anglican College)
  15. Alex Gow (Sunshine Coast Grammar School)
  16. Lincoln Wikaira (Sunshine Beach SHS)
  17. Ethan Smallwood (Matthew Flinders Anglican College)
  18. Ewan Fitzgerald (Sunshine Coast Grammar School)
  19. Tyron Bouroga (St Columban’s College)
  20. Kyle Giffin (Matthew Flinders Anglican College)
  21. Oliver Lehmann (Matthew Flinders Anglican College)
  22. Jonah Wolstencroft (Matthew Flinders Anglican College)

2 thoughts on “Sunshine Coast Open Schoolboys Announced

    • Nicole, fixed and our apologies. A great effort from Harrison last year and all the best for his efforts again this year. Hope all goes we with his recovery and he’s back on the paddock again soon. Ian